Only the Idyllwild Fire Protection District will need an election in 2013. The Fire district has four candidates to fill three seats.

The only incumbent seeking re-election is IFPD Commission President Jeannine Charles-Stigall, who was second in a field of six in her first race in 2009.

The other three candidates also have or had connections with the Fire District.

Rhonda Andrewson, the former administrative assistant, resigned to be a candidate in this eletion. Steve Kunkle is the former fire chief and Nancy Layton has provided financial consultant services to the District for more than a year.

The election will be Tuesday, August 27.

Fern Valley Water District only had two candidates for three seats. Incumbents Charles Wix, board president, and Robert Krieger submitted papers in time to qualify for the election if needed. But Director james Rees did not submit his papers by the May 31 deadline.

Consequently, the Registrar of Voters extended the deadline for FVWD candidates to June 5. No one else submit papers and Rees’s papers did arrive late.

According to the Registrar of Voters Chief Deputy Melissa Eickman, “the Fern Valley Water District will have an opportunity to suggest an appointee. However, the [Riverside County] Board of Supervisors makes the appointment. The appointee will hold the office for the full four-year term.”

FVWD also has a fourth seat to fill. Last week, the District announced the resignation of Director Diana Johnson, whose term expires in December 2015. The Board has decided to fill the remaining period with an appointment at its June 21 meeting. Interested applicants can file at the District’s office, 55790 S. Circle Dr. Members of the Fern Valley Board of Directors must own land in the District.

Idyllwild and Pine Cove water district residents will not need to cast a vote to fill the expiring seats. For the second consecutive election, only the existing incumbents, whose terms expire in December, filed for the director seats in those water districts. John Cook and Mike Freitas of Idyllwild Water and Robert Hewitt, Lou Padula and Joel Palmer of Pine Cove encountered no competition in their decision to continue their role with their local water district. Consequently, both districts will be spared the cost of an election.