On the recommendation of CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire Chief, Shawn C. Newman, the Riverside County Board of Supervisors approved the immediate closure of seven hazardous fire areas throughout the region. 

The closures went into effect Tuesday, June 25 and will remain in effect until further notice.

These areas include:

Avery Canyon (Gibbel Road east of State Street in Hemet)

North Mountain and Indian Canyon (San Jacinto area)

Whitewater Canyon (Cabazon, north of Palm Springs)

Nuevo/Lakeview (east of Menifee Road and San Jacinto Avenue)

• Minto (Sage)

Reinhardt Canyon (north of Highway 74 and California Avenue in Hemet)

Ramona Bowl and Bautista Canyon (southeast Hemet)

Riverside County Ordinance 787.8 restricts public access to these identified hazardous fire areas unless private property access is required.

Those violating the ordinance may be subject to a minimum fine of $100 for first-time offenses.

Future closures may be implemented based upon weather conditions, fuel moisture and increased wildland fire threat. 

Maps for each of the affected areas can be located on our website at www.rvcfire.org. For additional information on the closure of these hazardous fire areas, please contact the CAL FIRE/Riverside County Fire Department Public Information Bureau at 951-940-6985.