Last Friday, 19 members and 11 alternates of the fiscal year 2013-14 Riverside County Grand Jury were selected from a drawing held in Department 1 at the Historic Courthouse in Riverside. The grand jurors took their oath the same day.

The composition of the 19 members of the grand jury include five females and 14 males.

Efforts to solicit applications for the grand juror positions included notices in local newspapers and information posted on the court’s website. The court received more than 70 applications and 63 applicants received interviews.

The grand jurors will commence a four-day training on July 8. They are: Linda Bennecke, Larry Harvey, Dawn Nygaard, Norman Blake, Alice Irwin, Thomas Perrin, William Brighton, William Kortsch, Don Rapp, John Chavez, Joseph Kucsan, Barbara Schlegel (foreperson), Barry Garron, Byron Ley, Howard Silverman, Robert Gillis, Marlyn Nistler, Douglas Yavanian and Cleda Givens-Bullock.