By Riverside County

In preparation for candidate filing under COVID-19 restrictions, the Riverside County Registrar of Voters is encouraging contact-less filing options for candidates who wish to run for local office in the Nov. 3, 2020 Presidential General Election. Candidate filing concludes on Aug. 7, 2020 at 5 p.m.

Candidates can request to receive their documents via email or regular mail by calling the Riverside County Registrar of Voters office at 951-486-7200. Candidates have the option of taking the Oath of Office via a notary service or by using a video conferencing service with Registrar of Voters’ staff. If candidates prefer to file in-person, appointments are highly recommended. Walk-ins are permitted. However, wait times may occur as physical distancing requirements and limitations are implemented.

Candidates can make an appointment by calling 951-486-7200.  Completed documents with original signatures must be received by the Registrar of Voters by the close of the nomination period at 5 p.m. on Aug. 7, 2020, in order for the candidate to be qualified for the ballot. For convenience, there will be a secure drop box located outside of the Registrar of Voters’ office for candidates to drop off their completed nomination forms.

If an incumbent fails to file, the deadline for that office will be extended to 5 p.m. on Aug. 12, for everyone except the incumbent. 

The Registrar of Voters’ staff is available to help prospective candidates complete the necessary paperwork and to answer questions. Please call 951-486-7200 to schedule an appointment. Candidates unsure about the local district offices for which they are eligible, based on residency, should contact the Registrar of Voters office for help.

Candidates will receive informational handbooks at the time they obtain their papers.

For more information about this election contact the Registrar of Voters office at 951-486-7200 or 800-773-8683.

Local Special Districts with elected openings

Idyllwild Fire Protection District

Idyllwild Water District

Pine Cove Water District

Lake Hemet Municipal Water District – Divisions 2 & 5

Mt. San Jacinto Community College District