Jeff Stone, Supervisor for Riverside County’s 3rd District, has filed for re-election. If successful, Stone has announced this would be his third and final term. He defeated former incumbent Jim Venable in the March 2004 primary and his first term began in December 2004.

Stone was re-elected in 2008 with more than 70 percent of the vote against challenger Deane Foote.

This June, Joseph Scarafone is challenging Stone in the non-partisan primary. Scarafone has no prior elective experience.

In the 1st district supervisorial race, incumbent Bob Buster has two challengers. State Assemblyman Kevin Jeffries and Mike Soubirous also qualified for the ballot.

Jeffries currently represents the 66th Assembly District in southwest Riverside County. He was first elected to the Assembly in 2006 and is finishing his third and final term.

Soubirous’s wife, Linda, ran for the nomination in 2004. She and third candidate Kevin Pape garnered 49.9 percent of the primary vote. Buster collected about 50 votes more than 50 percent and thus avoided a general election campaign.

For the local Congressional race, Rep. Mary Bono Mack is unopposed for the Republican nomination for District 36. Dr. Raul Ruiz is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

Incumbent Assemblyman Brian Nestande is unopposed for the Republican nomination for the new 42nd Assembly District; however Idyllwild is no longer in his district.

Assembly District 71, whose northern edge is Twin Pines and stretches south to the border with Mexico, is Idyllwild’s new home.

Brian Jones (R – Santee) is the incumbent. In 2010, he was elected to represent the 77th Assembly district, of which the majority is now part of AD 71. Also running on the Republican ticket is John McLaughlin. Two Democrats, Patrick J. Hurley and Karen Marie Otter, have also qualified for the election.

The two candidates with most votes in June will be on the November ballot regardless of party afflation. It is possible that November will see Jones against McLaughlin.