Town Hall Sports Coordinator Michael Holato gave this report on Youth Soccer. Below are the scores, standings and players of the game for Town Hall Youth Soccer.

Ages 7-9

Forest Realty Idyllwild Stars win 7- to 9-year-old Town Hall Soccer Division. After the Idyllwild Stars defeated the American Legion Tornadoes 2-0, they went on to defeat Crazy Train Pub & Grill Galaxy (who defeated Patty Perez Rockets) 4-0.

Patty Perez Rockets defeated the American Legion Tornadoes 1-0 in overtime for 3rd place.

Town Hall would like to recognize some players with outstanding soccer seasons.

• Forest Realty Idyllwild Stars: Indigo Dagnall, Darius Esparza, Roger Gonzalez, Andrea Lopez, Chelsea Cerritos and Dominic Rivera. 

• Crazy Train Pub & Grill Galaxy: Silas Zimmerman, Jackson Taylor, Hailey Olivier, Luke Olivier, Sarianne Muir and Tate Donavan. 

• Patty Perez Rockets: Xavi Cerritos, Lucy Newman, Kaylee Gage, Nicholas Sanchez, Cecelia Newman and Ruby Adams.

• American Legion Tornadoes: Micah McCaughey, Noah McCaughey, Aiden Pritchett, Jack Taylor, River Fernandes and Piper Pritchett.

Ages 10-14

In a season of close and exciting games, Muirs Mountain Green Hornets defeated Idyllwild Brewpub Blue Stars 2-0 to win Town Hall Soccer 10- to 14-year-old Division.

After a scoreless first half, Green Hornets’ Cody Fogle and Finn Carpenter scored goals to lead the Green Hornets to victory in another fantastic soccer game.

Town Hall would like to recognize some of the players from both teams who had outstanding soccer seasons.

• Idyllwild Brewpub Blue Stars: Hunter Nunez, Christian Gonzalezw Christofer Cerritos, Travis Rocha and Oliver Gonzalez.

• Muirs Mountain Green Hornets: Cody Fogle, Finn Carpenter, Zachary Russo, Cameron Gage, Seth White and Revin Muir.


Jim Crandall, Palms to Pines Golf Association handicap chair, provided this report about the association’s regular monthly tourney in October.

Idyllwild’s Palms to Pines Golf Association played Friday, Oct. 19, at the Lakes links at Menifee Lakes Country Club.

In the finals for club champion, Bob Wadlow bested Lee Lanfried in the final playoff match. Wadlow is now the new club champion of PPGA.

He will represent the club in the Southern California Tournament of Club Champions on Dec. 3. The pair played the match on Thursday, Oct. 25, instead of during the regular tourney because Lanfried was out of town.

Jerry Daquila won the B-flight club championship at an earlier date. He will get a special trophy for his victory.

Wadlow also won the regular tourney on Oct. 19. With a course handicap of 17, he had a net 66 for first place. Barry Wallace (15) shot a net 69 for second and Pete Capparelli’s (21) net 72 earned him third place. Crandall (13) shot net 74 for fourth and Danny Crosser (14) rounded out the top five with a net 77.

In the B flight, made up of golfers with a handicap index of 24.4 or above as of Aug. 15, 2018, Daquila (26) shot a net 71 for first place; Barry Zander (37) with a net 72 was second, David Hiemenz (35) shot net 75 for third and Don DePalma (38) was fourth with a net 88.

The winners of the closest-to-the-pin contests on the four par 3s were Crandall on hole no. 3, and dead-eye Crosser on three holes — 8, 13 and 17.

Here are the 2018-19 point standings for the season that runs from August 2018 through July 2019:

Place Golfer Points

1 Lee Lanfried 10

tied Bob Wadlow 10

3 Barry Wallace 7.5

4 Pete Holzman 7

5 Norm Kyriss5.5

tied Pete Capparelli 5.5

7 Ken Garelick 4

8 Dennis Chavez 3

tied Jim Crandall 3

10 Danny Crosser 2

11 Paul Cozens 1.5

12 Mike Feyder 1

tied Mike Higginbotham 1

14 John King .5

tied Scott Schroeder .5

Flight B Stats (Flight B comprises high handicappers who don’t qualify to compete in the club championships):

Place Golfer Points

1 Jerry Daquila 11

tied David Hiemenz 11

3 Barry Zander 3.5

4 Don DePalma 3

In regular season, points are awarded at each tournament as follows: first place, 6 points; second place, 4 points; third place, 3 points; fourth place, 2 points; fifth place, 1 point. Also, one-half point is awarded to everyone who participates.

A member has to compete in at least five regular-season tournaments to qualify for the playoffs.

The club is a member of the Southern California Golf Association and is sanctioned to establish SCGA handicaps for members.

If interested in joining the club or playing as a guest, contact Crandall at [email protected] or 951-265-5732, or Capparelli at [email protected] or 951-452-5552.