Jim Crandall, Palms to Pines Golf Association handicap chair, provided this report about the Friday, Nov. 16, golf tournament.

The club held its regular monthly tournament at Morongo Tukwet Canyon Champions Course in Beaumont.

It was cloudy in the morning, with sprinkling rain. Although the rain stopped, the clouds stayed. Temperatures were mild, and the course was in excellent shape.

This month, the group played a four-man scramble with four teams.

In the scramble format, each person on a team drives their ball, then the team chooses the best ball, and everyone on the team shoots their second shot from that spot. They do this with every shot until they put the ball in hole. One additional rule is that the team must play four drives from each player.

The team of Pete Capparelli, Les Widerynski, George Kretsinger and new member Lee Lanfried shot a gross 69, net 63 to win the tourney.

The second place team members were John Brower, Gary Brown, Scott Schoeder and Chris Kramer. They shot a gross 68, net 65.

Jim Crandall, Gary Leong, Mike Feyder and Bill Sanborn were third with a gross 69, net 69.

And the fourth place team was Bill Ragland, Chuck Alkire, Dan Slattery and Bob Stearns, who had a gross 72, net 72.

In the four individual closest-to-the-pin contests, Brower won on hole 2, Alkire won on hole 8, Crandall won on hole 15 and Feyder won on hole 17.

Points were awarded as follows: the first place team garnered 8 total points, or 2 each; second got 6 total, 1.5 each; third got 5 total, 1.25 each; fourth got 4 total or 1 each.

On another note, club champion Alkire is scheduled to represent the club in the Southern California Tournament of Club Champions on Dec. 10. The course he will play on has not yet been determined.

Here are the current point standings for the 2012-2013 season.

Place Golfer Points
1 Bill Sanborn 13.08
2 Dan Slattery 9.5
3 tied John LoGiudice 9
Les Widerynski 9
5 Pete Capparelli 7.83
6 Mike Feyder 6.08
7 tied Robert Priefer 4.5
John Brower 4.5
9 Jim Crandall 3.75
10 Scott Schroeder 3.5
11 Bob Stearns 3
12 Gary Leong 2.75
13 tied Gary Brown 2.5
Chris Kramer 2.5
George Kretsinger 2.5
16 Lee Lanfried 2
17 Bill Ragland 1.5
18 tied John McAndrews 1
Wayne Sleme 1
Chuck Alkire 1

The top eight point finishers of the year go into match-play playoffs for the club championship in August, September and October. A member has to compete in at least five regular season tournaments and have a handicap no greater than 24.4 in order to qualify for the playoffs.

The club is a member of the Southern California Golf Association and is sanctioned to establish SCGA handicaps for members.

If you are interested in joining the club or playing as a guest, please contact Crandall at [email protected] or (951) 265-5732, or Pete Capparelli at [email protected] or (951) 452-5552.