At its Sept. 24 meeting, the Riverside County Board of Supervisors approved the request from the Registrar of Voters to appoint the directors for Fern Valley, Idyllwild and Pine Cove Water districts to their new terms beginning in December.

All three local water districts had seats to be filled in the August mail election. However, the number of eligible candidates was the same as the number of directors to be chosen, so the registrar did not have to conduct an actual election for these districts.

Pursuant to Elections Code (sec. 10515), the Board of Supervisors appoints the candidates as directors.

In each district, incumbent directors filed for another term and were unopposed. For Fern Valley, Robert Krieger, James Rees and Charles Wix were re-elected. For Idyllwild Water District, directors John Cook and Michael Freitas were the only candidates. For Pine Cove Water District, directors Robert Hewitt, Louis Padula and Joel Palmer will continue to serve on the board.

Idyllwild Fire Protection District participated in the August mail election because there were four candidates for the three seats to be filled.

The registrar certified the election of President Jeannine Charles-Stigall and new directors Rhonda Andrewson and Nancy Layton.